Love and Fro Review: Lush Henna Hair Dye

Lush Henna Hair Dye Bar

So why use henna on natural hair? Here’s what Nikole of Mop Top Maven has to say:

 Why Henna?

  • Help stop/curb breakage
  • Makes hair stronger
  • Thickens strands
  • Temporarily loosens curl patterns for some [enhances curl patterns in others]
  • Reduces dandruff
  • Imparts shine, and makes hair incredibly silky

I’ve henna’ed my hair three times. Twice using the Lush Henna Caca Marron Mama and once using a brand I bought at my local beauty supply store. I cannot recommend using Lush Henna enough. It gets the job done, its not complicated and it safe to use on all hair types. The staff at the Lush store where I bought my henna were more than happy to answer any of my questions. I’ve broken down my review into preparation, customer service, price and overall experience.

Preparation: It comes in a large bar that is divided into six pieces, which must be grated prior to mixing. I mixed two pieces and got the perfect amount for my shortish hair. The instructions say to mix with boiling water only. Along with boiling water, I add olive oil and honey to stop some of the dryness that can occur with henna use.  Take into account what your hair likes if you plan on adding any extras to your mix.

Customer Service: Excellent. As I said the staff at Lush were very helpful and knowledgable.

Price: In Canada, with tax the total came to around $23. For some this may be expensive but since my hair is not that long, one henna bar will last me three uses.

Overall experience: Overall I would give it 4.5 out 5. The only reason why its not a perfect score is because you have to grate the henna bar before you mix it.

There are countless reviews and tutorials around the web about henna but I thought I would give some quick tips and observations I discovered along the way.

– Wash or co-wash you hair prior to henna’ing. My theory is that the henna will work better if there is less product build up.

– Its messy no matter how careful you are. Put down some newspaper, wear gloves, and old t-shirt to save yourself the hassle.

-It does have a distinct grass smell.

– Its time consuming. Its best to set aside a large part of your day if your going to do it.  Lush’s instruction say to leave it in for one to six hours. I left mine in for four hours and got good results.

– Do a test strand.

-If you can, rinse the henna out with conditioner not shampoo. Again this is to help with the dryness.

– Don’t worry about the change in hair colour. Its very subtle. At first I didn’t think my hair colour changed because my black (or very dark brown) hair already has brown/reddish undertone to it. Once my hair was dry and the light hits it a the right angle, it is a tad bit lighter than usual. According to blogs, the colour becomes more apparent over time.

– After the initial application, my curl pattern was looser but overtime it does tighten back.

– This step is important! Follow up with a heavy duty, protein free deep conditioner. I’m not a hair scientist but I will say that when I henna’ed my hair and then used a deep conditioner with protein in it, I noticed more breakage than usual. My theory is that since a henna treatment strengthens the hair follicle in a similar way to that of  a protein treatment, my hair was overloaded. When I henna my hair again and use a protein free deep conditioner my hair was just fine.

– If you follow blogs and how they complete their henna/henna glosses, please take into account YOUR hair length and how YOUR hair behaves. What works for someone else, may not work for you.

Be sure to do your research before try henna. Although there are many benefits, it may not be for you and your hair.

One thought on “Love and Fro Review: Lush Henna Hair Dye

Leave a Reply

