Why Not? Kanye West to debut a fashion collection

Kanye West in Celine Spring 2011

It was inevitable that Kanye West would debut a fashion collection. If you follow Kanye’s career and style journey, you’ll know that he takes fashion very seriously. I personally think he has the best style in hip hop right now and started many trends of today’s hip hop stars. He has interned  at Fendi, regularly attends fashion shows and name drops Karl Lagerfeld, Christian Dior, Phoebe Philo, Givenchy and Marc Jacobs in his rhymes.  Christian Dior Denim Flow name drops some of today’s top models. A few months ago, rumours swirled that he had either applied or enrolled at Central Sain Martin’s  to earn his master’s in fashion design degree.Last year West and his crew started the Rosewood Movement.  He released a collection of scarves inspired by his album My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. Most recently at the 2011 Coachella Music Festival , in a classic fashion moment,  he wore a tunic from Celine’s Spring 2011 Womenswear collection.  This is not the first time Kanye has attempted to make a fashion collection. Pastelle , which looked promising, was supposed debut but was suddenly cancelled. This collection will debut in Spring 2012.

To celebrate Kanye’s new line, I’ve compiled some of my favourite trends that Kanye West either started or influenced:

Skinny jeans that fit: When West first came on the scene with his debut album The College Dropout, he was more than breath of fresh air musically. Stylistically, he was different than most gangster rappers simply because he wore clothes that fit. Since then rappers have  followed suit. Occasionally you’ll still see a rapper with his pants falling off (Hi Lil Wayne). West is also said to have started the black nerd/blipster movement.

“Stronger” sunglasses: Cool at the time not so cool now, with the release of his single Stronger and accompanying video, West wore sunglasses that look like window blinds. In my opinion their best moment was at the  2008 Grammys.

The infamous mullet fro: Why not?

The Rosewood Movement: My favourite Kanye West style moment. Last year West and his entourage all begun wearing tailored Dior Homme suits.

The Sartorialist: Scott Schuman has photographed West a few times over the years.

Amber Rose:  Let me say this: I really like Amber Rose as a celebrity/model/professional sunglasses wearer. Her striking appearance and outfits made her somewhat of an accessory to West. Even though she barely spoke when they were together, she was in some instances more interesting than him.

I wonder if this collection will be womenswear or menswear. In my mind, I imagine that he would be better at designing womenswear.

If you’re looking for a more complete overview of Kanye’s style journey, check this out.

In other Kanye news, his  highly anticipated collaborative album with Jay-Z, Watch the Throne, is rumoured to be released this July.

Celine image source 

3 thoughts on “Why Not? Kanye West to debut a fashion collection

  1. Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any helpful hints for newbie blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

