THE SOUND: Playlist for the summer

I think every artist these days vies for the Song of the Summer. You know, that inescapable song that appears in June and is played every five minutes until the end of August. At first you might enjoy it but by the end of the summer it sounds like nails on a chalk board. Arguably the songs of last summer were California Gurls by Katy Perry featuring Snoop Dogg,  Airplanes by B.O.B featuring Hayley Williams and Love the Way You Lie by Eminem featuring Rihanna.

So far I haven’t heard any strong contenders for the song of the summer but I thought I’d make a playlist of songs to start the summer with. I’ll be adding more as the summer goes on.

End of Time – Beyonce: This song just might be my favourite Beyonce song ever. I love everything about it. It’s like an ode to Lionel Richie, Michael Jackson, and Prince. I think Beyonce and her team really should promote this song. With the right video it could do well.

 

Run the World (Girls) – Beyonce: I think Beyonce and her team wanted this song to blow up but it just didn’t. However she does have an album coming out at the end of June so I’m not giving up hope that she will deliver and this song will magically become popular. Yes I know her album has leaked (!!!) but I will not listen!

 

Edge of Glory – Lady Gaga: Edge of Glory is a catchy power pop song that is already semi popular.  I think this might be one of Gaga’s best songs. The video is quite boring though. Rest in peace Clarence Clemons.

 

Born to Run – Bruce Springsteen: In honour of Clarence Clemons.

 

We All Try – Frank Ocean: You may know who Odd Future is but if you do not know who Frank Ocean (no relation to Billy Ocean) is then where have you been?! Frank Ocean is making some of the best music I’ve heard in a long time. We All Try is my favourite song from his album Nostalgia, Ultra. Download it for free while you still can. Check out his video for Novacane below.

 

Marvin’s Room – Drake: Drake has been quiet as of late  but since his second album is coming out this October, he should be releasing an official single any day now. This song is nothing out of the ordinary for him.

 

Workout –  J.Cole – Many J.Cole fans don’t like this song but I do. Its not his best and its not his worst either.

 

Lost in the World – Kanye West featuring Bon Iver: Even though My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy came out last year, I still to it all the time. Check out his performance of Lost in the World at Coachella this April. Please excuse Kanye’s singing voice.

 

Something from Watch the Throne: Everyone (well mostly rap music fans), are eagerly waiting to hear what Yeezy and Hova have been working on all these months. If they do release Watch the Throne this summer, could there be one song that could dominate mainstream music?

Leave a Reply

